CHEN YUNTAI (YUN-TAI CHEN, Y. T. CHEN) is Professor and Honorary Director of the Institute of Geophysics, China Earthquake Administration (CEA), Professor and Honorary Dean of the School of Earth and Space Sciences, Peking (Beijing) University (PKU), China, President of Seismological Society of China (2011-), Member of Presidium of Science Divisions, Chinese Academy of Sciences (2012-).

Chen's research is focused on source process of the significant earthquakes, crack models of earthquake source and simulation of earthquake sequences, retrieval of complexities of earthquake source from digital broadband seismic data, near-source strong ground motion of earthquakes and underground nuclear explosions, and rotational seismology. He is an author on approximately 200 scientific publications, including one textbook *Fundamentals of Geophysics* as co-author.

Chen received his B.Sc. degree in 1962 from the Department of Geophysics, Peking University, China, and his Ph.D. in 1966 from the Institute of Geophysics, CAS. He has been teaching at the Graduate School of CAS and the School of Earth and Space Sciences, PKU for more than three decades (1978-). He has served on the Director of the Institute of Geophysics, CEA (1985-2000), the President of Seismological Society of China (1986-2000), and the Dean of the School of Earth and Space Sciences, PKU, China (2001-2008), Vice-Chairman of the Earth Science Division of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), Member of the Executive Bureau and Chairman of the Solid Earth Sciences (SE) Section, of the Asia Oceania Geosciences Society (AOGS)(2004-2006) and Member of the Executive Bureau of the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG)(2003-2011). He has been awarded the Award of National Sciences Congress of China (1978), the Third Class Award of National Natural Sciences of China (1987), the Third Class National Award of Progress of Science and Technology of China (1998), the HLHL Award of Science and Technology Progress (2000), and the International Award of the American Geophysical Union (2010). He was elected as Member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences (1991) and Fellow of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) (1999).